Shetland Islands Council Pension Fund

Administering Authority: Shetland Islands Council

We ask that you write a regular letter to your Councillors to urge them to support the divestment of companies complicit in Israel’s violations of Palestinian rights from the Shetland Islands Council Pension Fund. 

Shetland Islands Council Pension Fund is invested in pooled funds.  Make sure that these funds are not invested in any of the companies highlighted by the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights (UNHCHR), whose activities in the illegally Occupied Palestinians Territories have raised particular human rights concerns.

Councils participating in this Fund:

Shetland Islands Council

List of investments: as at June 2020 – [Download]

Pension Committee members:

  • Councillor Steven Coutts (Chair) (Shetland Islands Council)
  • Councillor Alastair Cooper (Shetland Islands Council)
  • Councillor Stephen Leask (Shetland Islands Council)
  • Councillor Robbie McGregor (Shetland Islands Council)
  • Councillor George Smith (Shetland Islands Council)
  • Councillor Theodore Smith (Shetland Islands Council)
  • Councillor Ryan Thomson (Shetland Islands Council)

Pension Board members:

Scheme member representatives

  • David Marsh (Vice-Chair) (Unison)
  • Austin Taylor (Unison)

Employer representatives

  • Councillor Malcolm Bell (Shetland Islands Council)
  • Councillor John Fraser (Shetland Islands Council)
  • James Johnston (Chair) (Shetland Recreational Trust)


Annual Report